The Lounge Guidelines Help Search Members Calendar Blogs

Welcome Guest [ Log In | Register ] ]

10 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ack! The what do I want to do with my life thread! Finding your passions for career and otherwise.
likeanyother
post Dec 6 2009, 04:23 AM
Post #1

Hardcore BUSTie

epi -- I'm in Taiwan now teaching English and I have to say, I couldn't recommend it more, especially if you're at an in-between, not-sure-what-I-want-to-do-with-my-life stage. That's exactly where I was when I decided to come here, except rather than doing it right after I graduated I suffered though a bunch of low paying, temporary, and crappy desk jobs.

While I'm teaching here I'm saving money so that I can travel around Asia for a few months after I'm done and then I'm planning on going to grad school back in the U.S. To save money to bring with me here, I had to work at a job I couldn't stand for about a year, but knowing that I had living and working abroad and then traveling to look forward to really helped me get through it. So think about your sweet future in Asia and maybe that will help a little. Do you know which country you plan to teach in? The money is in Korea, so if that's your goal you should go there. You can also save in Taiwan, though not as much cuz they don't pay your airfare or your housing here, but from what I've heard it's a much nicer country for foreigners to live in. I can vouch for the fact that Taipei is fucking awesome, while Korea has a reputation for being xenophobic, but then again I know someone who taught in Seoul and loved it, so to each their own. Anyway, if you're curious about Taiwan, let me know and I can give you the lowdown. Good luck.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
angie_21
post Nov 28 2009, 10:59 AM
Post #2

Hardcore BUSTie