Welcome Guest [ Log In | Register ] ]

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Why I Love Or Hate My Job!
thirtiesgirl
post Oct 9 2008, 01:29 AM
Post #1

Hardcore BUSTie

QUOTE(neverending @ Sep 25 2006, 03:11 PM) *
I was a Phlebotomist/Lab tech for 4 1/2yrs. and I loved the job but I hated all the bullcrap associated with it (backbiting,Gossip, Physicians&RN'S that think they are God,etc).I am now in Nursing school and I feel I have made the wrong choice.Don't get me wrong!I am a people person but I really don't want the stress and responsibility that comes along with Nursing.There are millions of jobs out there and I wanted to know why you all love or hate your jobs so maybe it could help me make a decision as to what I want to do with my life. I am currently thinking about Radiology, Surgical Technology, and Dental Hygiene.Any thoughts?

I know this was written in 2006, and I don't know if neverending is still posting or still around, but I'll offer my two cents. My mom got her RN license and worked her way up the food chain at the clinic where she was employed, until she became the manager of the phlebotomist lab and all the nurses and techs who drew blood (which is what a phlebotomist is). She was happy doing that job for many years.

Personally, as a school counselor, I love the relationship I have with some of 'my' kids at work. I hate some of the pointless administrative crap we have to do, along with the usual pettiness that seems to exist at almost every school I've ever worked, from the lowest clerk on the totem pole ("please don't touch my stapler on my desk") to the administrators who talk about other staff members behind their backs and then do petty things like restrict some staff members' computer access because admin is unhappy with the way they're doing their job, or throw said staff members under the bus at staff meetings.

Most days, I prefer the kids at work to the adults.

--------------------