Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Academia nuts
The BUST Lounge > Forums > Working Grrls
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
sybarite
I think one aspect of researching/writing a Ph.D is that it is necessarily very isolating, precisely because you must know more about your topic than anyone else, as you say lapis. The further into your research you go, the harder it is for anyone to follow you.

Honestly, in my experience and that of others I've talked to, doubting yourself occasionally is natural: not because you're not good at what you do but because you are really thrown back on your own critical facilities so often.

DJ biz, I can sympathise. I'm not a scientist, but my work, which was rooted in a cultural studies approach, is being tugged towards the dryer end of policy study. I can see how this will come in handy but it's deadly boring stuff to wade through.

Lapis, I do like thinking of life post-Ph.D submission...
dj-bizmonkey
lapis, sybarite, thanks so much ladies! i get so bogged down in this 'do i belong here?' song and dance sometimes. i think one of problems is that i'm crazy about primatology, i absolutely love it. i love primates, i love nature, i love the window into this other world that it affords me. at my core though, i still identify as an activist and i find myself questioning a lot, what am i doing for humanity? how am i helping the world? my long-winded philosophical answer is that by bringing attention to nonhuman primates i can engender interest in conservation which will do two things, perhaps make the world a cleaner more sustainable place for future generations, and also inspire humility. i feel that if people can see themselves as animals and animals likened to humans it may humble them which in turn will cause people to be more thoughtful and caring for one another and also the planet.