Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: why can't I just stay unemployed? the job hunting hell
The BUST Lounge > Forums > Working Grrls
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
Muffy
QUOTE(silverhalide @ May 18 2007, 09:42 PM) *
I recieved my BFA in Photography from Columbia College in Chicago. My mother passed away last April, so after I graduated I moved back to Michigan to be with my family and I have been looking for a full-time job for a year. I got a part-time job at a stationary/invitations store but they only are able to give me one day a week. I get interviews but no offers. It sucks. Job hunting is one of the hardest things in the world. It's not great for your self-esteem either. I get really encouraging responses from interviews, but then they just don't call. Maybe it all boils down to chemistry. Also Michigan isn't exactly hopping with photography jobs. I hope something pops up soon because I have student loan bills. I am going to a temp agency on Tuesday.

I agree it isn't good for you self-esteem. I'm in the same boat. I have two art/design degrees and work part-time in retail because they won't give me more than 8-10 hours a week. I'm not sure there is really a good place to be looking for a job.
good luck with the temp agency.
Tan Princess
The jobs market in the states sounds really rough from your posts you guys. I read bait & switch by barbara ehrenreich recently and it was really interesting. I guess what she said is true about how hard it is to find white collar jobs. I live in europe and the jobs market is pretty good and fairly secure too.
Tan Princess
The jobs market in the states sounds really rough from your posts you guys. I read bait & switch by barbara ehrenreich recently and it was really interesting. I guess what she said is true about how hard it is to find white collar jobs. I live in europe and the jobs market is pretty good and fairly secure too.