Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: caught by the fuzz: to shave or not to shave
The BUST Lounge > Forums > Our Bodies, Our Hells
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
roquelaure

(a newbie's recitation on home lasers tongue.gif )

i'm a hairy italian beast- my underarms were a horror show of follicular madness. the hair started about three inches higher than most people's, and went all the way down about two inches where the pit-curve stops- not to mention with least two, and most of the time three or four hairs growing out of one follicle. after trying every razor, epilator, wax, tweezer, and torture device on the market, and giving myself ingrown hairs and scars from picking at ones that just didn't want to let go, i broke down and treated myself to laser on my 'pits last summer. i literally burst into tears with happiness and relief when, after fifteen minutes with the esthecian (sp?) the rug i had been battling for 20 years was GONE. i mean- GONE- not a stubble, not a stray, nothing. it cost $150 for one session, and i only had to return for one more to get the ones that hadn't started growing when i had the first time done. a little more than a year later and i've had a bit of regrowth, which i either shave or wax, but it is only about 1/5th of the area it used to be, and very, very fine.

i wanted to get another session done this summer, and below my knees, but opted to go on vacation instead. so when i saw the new at-home lasers, i was intrigued. two hundred bucks for something i can use over and over again? hmmm... but then last week i started researching reviews. over ninety percent were negative- the hair grew back, burns, cheaply made, poorly translated instruction booklets, or flat out didn't do anything at all. which, once i thought more about the technology, makes perfect sense now: