Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: *sigh* ........the depression thread
The BUST Lounge > Forums > Our Bodies, Our Hells
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28
anoushh
There's nothing inherently wrong about going to your GP re: anxiety and depression first. In fact, usually that's the best move. Some GPs know more than others about these problems and the meds, but that's true of any condition you'd start with the GP for.

A good GP will refer you to a psychiatrist if you need it. If you don't have a good GP, well, you need a different one for other reasons besides treating depression. Not all psychiatrists are that great, just like any profession. Some are, of course but I'm just saying... In part it depends on their interest. I know more about antidepressants and anxiolytics (anti-anxiety drugs) than some GPs I've known--I'm a social worker. So be careful about generalizing on that.

I've had great care and poor care from both.

Also, I don't agree with the "of course a psych would give you xanax." The benzodiazepines, of which xanax is one, are extremely addictive and need to be used with caution, and are really only meant for short term treatment. It also has a significant street value, so a doctor needs to be cautious with prescribing. That's just good practice.

That's not to say there isn't an appropriate use of them in treatment. And I know personally how frustrating and scary it is for a doctor to tell you "no" when you feel you desperately need--or at least want--some relief from the anxiety and you want it NOW! But I also know that as a professional this isn't always the wrong decision for a doctor to make.