Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Bust: Discuss.
The BUST Lounge > Forums > Media Whores
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
lilyblue
QUOTE(chachaheels @ Apr 2 2007, 08:40 AM) *
So that makes the female "gang" considered "too fat to be healthy" about 53% of the world's population, in total. And that is why a female "gang" of "fat" women (nothing scares the world more, trust me) is more than appropriate.

agreed! i would add the word unapolgetic to that description. this also plays into the "good" fats and the "bad" fatties line. if they were actively talking about how they ate right and exercised, would people have a problem?

maybe it's time to bring back the sizeism thread.
chachaheels
I saw that, Lilyblue, and thanks for bringing back that thread. I ran over to make a comment there already!

mornington
ok, so i finally got my copy.

first off... the travel article. Fucking stupid. Talk about brainless. I take offense because, well, I'm a qualified EFL teacher. It's hard work, really hard, and "conversation lessons"... are the worst of all. Jeebus. And most au pair agencies should require references, id, etc etc. Has no-one heard of all the cases of women going missing/being raped/murdered while overseas? Can we talk about healthcare? Expense? Volunteer organisations? Having a miligram of common sense?

and can I just say... "maybe it has something to do with bikinis and breasts - both of which it would help you to have".

I thought the fashion spread was very... samey. Nothing that made me go "I'd like to try that". Just made me go "meh, more skinny girls in tunic dresses".

The interviews were good, though - and the article on the city of women in china.

I'm just... not so into it any more. the magazine is getting same old same old, and without that it's not giving me a reason to buy it, especially when it costs (for me) twice as much as glamour because it's imported.
raisingirl
Morn, you're an EFL teacher? Huh, I never knew! It's something that interests me.