Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: what ever happened to art busties???
The BUST Lounge > Forums > Working Grrls
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
knorl05
thank you busties, i really value your input... very much so.
mouse
so kind of out of nowhere i've become involved in a tiny start-up design/branding/identity firm. this is with my good friend and his good friend (who i didn't previously know). they are both awesome at dealing with clients and project managing, both things i don't have a lot of experience with, whereas i'm a solid designer and they don't really have the skills/knowledge that i do in that realm. however, they are both saying they want to art direct and god help me but i can't deal with their aesthetic! the stuff they've shown me has been OK, but nothing has blown me away, and some of it is downright "NO" and just looks embarrassingly amateur. we talked before we decided to go ahead with the project about being honest and critical of each other and how that's necessary, but i feel like--since they both have more experience with the so-called more "professional" parts of this venture--that if i go in and say no to everything i want to say no to...well, it will not be good. but at the same time, i do not want to put my name to something i do not think is good design.

well, shit. anyone have any advice?
sonik
That's a tough one, Mouse. Can you wrap the criticism you have into some subtle package? Because i understand you don't want to put your name under something you don't wholeheartedly agree with, especially when you gut tells you so. Maybe in lieu of saying 'no' to things they show you, you can put in constructive criticism of how they can improve. It's important you're honest from the get-go. It sounds like a good opportunity, but make sure what you get yourself into. Good luck!

knorl05
..please excuse the interruption...